Perched on a hill overlooking the Penobscot River and the City of Bangor, Maine Hall sits between Hammond Street and Union Street, just prior to the point where the two streets converge. The building is located within walking distance from Bangor’s vibrant, mixed-use downtown.
Maine Hall was originally constructed as a dormitory by the Bangor Theological Seminary in 1834 -- nearly 30 years before the Civil War. The 4-story masonry building served the Seminary for nearly 170 years, before the campus was sold to a private developer and the Seminary moved to nearby Husson College. The former campus is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and Maine Hall is a contributing building to the Bangor Theological Seminary Historic District.
Working with CWS Architects, Sutherland Conservation + Consulting, Fore Solutions, and Nickerson O’Day as Construction Manager-at-Risk, CHOM planned a certified historic restoration of Maine Hall, and a conversion to 28 units of affordable rental housing for seniors, including a masonry addition to incorporate an elevator and community space into the building. This design development team helped CHOM access state and federal historic rehabilitation tax credits, and achieve Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (“LEED”) Silver Certification from the U.S. Green Building Council.
Design development and permitting, which required approvals from the local, state and federal levels, took more than a year. Construction started in 2010 and finished in 2011. By the end of 2011, the building was fully occupied, providing much needed affordable rental housing for seniors in the greater Bangor area. Maine Hall residents enjoy the use of the seminary campus and grounds along with other property owners on the campus. They have the use of a community room equipped with a computer, wireless internet service and community laundry facilities.